bradgrier.com

Byte-Sized Technology In Easy-to-Understand Language

It’s tiny, cool, and giving me an administration headache

Recently we’d picked up an ASUS eee PC as a replacement for my ill Compaq R3200. Well, not really as a replacement. You see, anytime we start looking into a hardware purchase, Tess and I review our need for the purchase.

To make a long story short, I’m inheriting her cool little Dell M1210, and she’s taking the eee PC, after I get it configured…hence the headache.

  1. Wireless networking — it seems that the native Linux installation (Xandros) has challenges. It manages wired networking fine.
  2. Can’t find SMB / Windows workgroups — I’ve got 5 or 6 other wireless devices easily finding my server, but not this one…yet. I’ve not tried it wired yet…that’s next.

But those things aside, it is a very cool little unit, with many possibilities. Out of the box it’s a more-than-capable web surfing and basic office box, using standard open source applications. Of course, I want more 🙂

Currently I’m looking into setting it up to dual boot Ubuntu and Windows XP. This will enable greater compatibility with my home network (I hope) and with other networks. We’ll see.

As for the somewhat ill Compaq? Since it’s the backlight that’s gone, I’ve plans to convert it to a Windows Media Centre box.

Written by bgrier

April 18, 2008 at 11:45 am

Posted in Doing, In the life

Tagged with , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A buddy of mine also had an HP laptop with the same problem – a broken backlight. He sent it back for repair.

    They reformatted his hard drive. (This is related to the backlight, how?)

    That little incident earned HP/Compaq a permanent spot my S**t List. I’ll never buy from them.

    Viajero Perdido

    April 19, 2008 at 4:45 pm

  2. Yeah, I’m still debating on this one. It’s past warrantee, so I’m tempted to find a backlight or transformer (depending what the problem is) and fix it myself.

    Or just set it up as another home computing device…though Windows Media Centre edition doesn’t play nice with the Nvidia to Go card in it..so far.

    Brad Grier

    April 20, 2008 at 1:51 pm

  3. I have an asus eee pc 1000h and its really very cool. It comes bundled with Windows XP and has a bigger hard drive. Very portable. I’ve never had any problems with it.

    ASUS Eee PC 1000Hs last blog post..Fake Nokia N95 Mobile Phone

    ASUS Eee PC 1000H

    November 1, 2008 at 8:09 pm

  4. @ASUS Eee PC 1000H – Indeed. Also a nice unit.

    Weird thing, my Compaq with the screen issue seems to have solved itself. So I’m back to where I was before, but now with another laptop. Extra computing power!

    bgrier

    November 2, 2008 at 9:14 am


Comments are closed.